Learning to choose the shiny apple in the tree of knowledge!

Annelise’s post about how networks are changing knowledge got me thinking about my role as a learner and a student.  Throughout this course I am finding that through reading everybody’s posts I am learning a lot more than when I just go out Googling for something.  If I don’t know what I’m looking for this can be a tedious and wasteful way to spned my day.  I find that by checking out everybody’s posts questions start forming in my head and then if I jump on the Google wagon I end up finding fruit.

 Picture 1.

2014_0825_143433AA by marcus_and_sue, on Flickr
 
 The following pictures represent how I’m currently viewing knowledge and networking.  Picture one depicts how I started this course and how I view accessing knowledge in general.  I’m reaching out to the tree of knowledge and just grabbing the nearest piece of fruit.
 
 Picture 2.
Ants love apples. by Zawezome, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  Zawezome 
 
The problem is, as depicted in Picture 2 is that often if we don’t know what we’re looking for, perhaps as a result of not knowing what we don’t know or by simply picking the wrong fruit from the tree of knowledge we could end up with not the nicest piece of fruit.  That could lead to a raft of problems – in terms of teaching, especially, if I don’t present the right opportunities or tools for accessing knowledge then I could really leave students with a baste taste!! 😉
 
Picture 3.
 
 
This final picture depicts how I feel both as a teacher, a learner and a student.  Firstly, as a teacher I am able to coach or direct my learners in how to use the right tools to select the best fruit.  As a learner, I am the child being guided by David and using my fellow colleagues to direct me in my learning.  Finally as a student, I am, similar to the learner but sometimes, especially at the start of the course, I was eating the fruit from the ground – not too tasty nor satisfying.  As Annelise says, 
 
 
 
About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in Me as a learner, Me as a student, Me as a teacher, Networked Communities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to choose the shiny apple in the tree of knowledge!

  1. Hi Paul
    Cute analogy. And no jokes about Eve and the apple and all the trouble that caused Adam. Being able to pick fruit wisely is always the issue.
    Cheers Tracey

    Like

Leave a Reply

