Imagine! A new move on a surfboard takes 48 hours to proporgate around the world

In considering what I might change about my teaching the Siemen’s article ‘New structures and spaces of learning: The systemic impact of connective knowledge, connectivism, and networked learning’ provides some serious eye opening material.   For me the key to asking critical questions is important, not only in order to achieve a different framework for education but for me personally if I am personally to move forward in my approach to teaching.

I’ve created a very short video which, I hope, captures my journey to date as a teacher in the NGL world and my role in bringing it all together.  Maybe for my assignment I’ll do one that’s much better.

Me as a teacher – my journey in a global and networked world. from Paul Size on Vimeo.

 

I really like Derek Sivers’ video on NGL.   ‘What’s obvious to me maybe a lightbulb moment for someone else…’  I guess that for me a a teacher it really forces me to ask the question;

How can I get my students to share, to link, to collaborate in a way where everyone benefits?

Imagine working in a team where no idea was considered stupid, where every thought and voice counted towards the vision!

In reading about the SAMR model I wondered how the level of student engagement affects the outcomes and how critical it would be in getting them involved in the vision, about what’s possible and whether there is a link between good tools and the jump from augmentation to modification.  I also think it comes back to asking the right questions, as I mentioned in one of my earlier posts.  I like this post on SAMR which says;

‘As one moves along the continuum, computer technology becomes more important in the classroom but at the same time becomes more invisibly woven into the demands of good teaching and learning.’

In looking at the video, RSA Animate – The Power of Networks I found it quite amazing to think about the complexity of networks.  Individual information with no connection vs the power of things like wikipedia.  Connections between knowledge is phenemenal.  It would seem that the transfer of knowledge parallels hierarchical and organisaitonal structures where power is held at a particular level and is fed downwards at the choice of the power holders.

I also liek the link between nature and the web of life, it’s great way of looking at knowledge and teaching and raises certain questions such as; How do I link my students with the successes and learnings of others on a global scale?  I agree that a new way of thinking is required, a pluralistic way of thinking.  It makes me question, how, as a teacher can I promote networked thinking?  I think the problem likes in the structure of classrooms and work environments (I wonder if there are any studies out there on the levels of creativity in places like Google compared to your standard office block – surely!!).  And I wonder about the limitations that such environments place upon ones approach to knowledge and thinking.   In thinking about this how can we promote things like networked partnerships and collective intelligence if we don’t either expose students to these things or encourage them to ask the right questions?

The video below, Innovation Expert John Seely Brown on New Ways of Learning in a Rapidly-Changing World is really intersting.  It talks about innovation through collaboration, networks and knowledge.  John goes on to say,

‘A new move on a surfboard takes 48 hours to proporgate around the world…the kids live for trying out something new.  They are high risk mistakes but the kids have the passion.

John goes onto talk about Warcraft and the high end performers and the link to collaboration and passion.

‘When kids are turned on in the right context, there’s almost no stopping them.’ 

I guess that’s my mission as a teacher – to introduce the right tools and promote the right environment that allows for a risk free and connected learning experience.

About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in Me as a teacher. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Imagine! A new move on a surfboard takes 48 hours to proporgate around the world

  1. Mari says:

    Hi Paul,
    Thanks for posting this interesting video of John Seely Brown. Apart from enjoying the surfing scenes (that is probably why this post caught my attention 😉 it also resonated with some ideas I’ve explored earlier about the importance of play in the learning process. I’ll write a post about this soon!

    Oh, and I wanted to ask… how did you create the animated video? What software or app did you use?
    Cheers, Mari

    Like

  2. Pingback: How tinkering brings thought and action together in magical ways | (sm)art education network

  3. Pingback: As a student, participation in NGL was useful for me. | (sm)art education network

Leave a Reply

