Me as a teacher

In thinking that the ultimate goal of this course is for me to develop insights into how my experience in NGL can transform my own teaching practice is still on my mind as I read everybody’s posts.   So far I feel that I really could benefit from learning from everybody’s journeys.  In my role as a training manager I have to provide solutions so that people can build their knowledge and use a range of software.  If any of you don’t know what ERP is, here’s a simple clip.

In Anne’s post Assume nothing, expect EVERYTHING! it got me thinking about assumptions and how they can do a lot of damage.  Most of my work is in Project Land and assumptions are things we use to establish and provide the basis for planning and estimating.  In Kym Williams’ blog  The danger of assumptions and the power of questions he talks about the aversion we have as adults to questioning people, facts and information.   I know for me, when I first entered Projects, initially, it was a very challenging time.  I was being asked every day what this meant and that and if this equalled that.  But I soon learned that if you don’t deal with assumptions and you get it wrong – it costs money.

Kym’s blog quotes;

The assumptions I have made around people’s level of knowledge, commitment to programs and appetite for change to drive the project has been misguided or just wrong.  These have provided many lessons learnt along with corrective actions required as we continue the path towards high performance on the project.’

I am working in phase two of a multi-level project.  In phase two I have to take the learnings from phase 1 and use these as a foundation for building my knowledge and ensuring that I correctly and quickly identify and test as many assumptions as possible.  The key to this is in working with the right people with the right skill sets.  The more of these people you get into a room and the quick you build an assumptions list which you can then test with subject matter experts.  I really like Kym’s post and like the use of the late Stephen Covey’s quote in saying,

“seek first to understand before being understood”.

So the message is to listen well, ask great questions and identify where the reality is.

I took Kym’s post and linked it to my linked in page with the aim of sharing it with like minded colleagues.  It’s a great way to build networks and check in with others to gather their thoughts.

So how can I link my learnings from my course to my teaching?  In reading Hayat’s post on the Summary of “The Architecture of Productive Learning Networks” – Chapter Two I understand that networked learning, although one of the oldest forms of learning, has been made more accessible to all by web 2.0 technologies so that information is more accessible than ever.   I hope to use this technology to assist not only in my assignment in learning how to build a vibrant community for siblings of CF people but also in my role as a training manager.

 

2009 - October 14 - NodeXL - Twitter Net by Marc_Smith, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  Marc_Smith 
About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in Me as a teacher and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

