As a student my brain is being Thermomixed

I’m not sure if any of you have come across the fantastic machine called the Thermomix but basically it’s a blender on steroids.  It can do a whole lot of cool stuff, that even Harry Potter’s wand would struggle with (thanks Brendon for the analogy).  I’m finding that my brain has been blended and forced to become rather pliable in the NGL world.

I like what Annelise said in her post about the benefits of blogging. I’m sitting here at the airport about to fly up to Noosa, waiting for the fog to clear for a weekend of surfing with a mate. On my way here I’ve been diving into others’ posts and I am finding that each day my knowledge is expanding. Through such an iterative approach I’m naturally finding that some of my early thoughts are rendered flawed, others have been made redundant while others I have tweaked to reflect my new found knowledge.

As a student in the NGL world I’m finding that I’m having to question my learning paradigms. My illustrious colleagues have forced me to into a world of double-looped learning where I’m continually checking-in to see if I’m on track and have got my head around NGL. I thank you.

In looking at the benefits of blogging from MacBride (2008) that Brendon highlighted, I see the use of technologies as a strength based approach to learning.   By capitalizing on our media literacies I’m finding that one can really enjoy the learning experience, and even more-so if they are supported along the way in a no-risk environment.  It’s allowing me to go beyond traditional boundaries and use a range of media.

When I dive into the world of communities of practice I can agree with Wenger and Snyder’s (2000) comments on socially constructed knowledge and the importance of participation. Simply through the process of blogging I am learning, and it’s through participation that I will gain mastery (hopefully).

In reading MacBride’s article, I wonder how blogs go as a tool for instructional purposes?  This is of interest to me in my current job. I am interested to see how the use of social constructivism can be used to build learner competencies in the world of ERPs and technology rollouts across disperse audiences. As indicated by O’Dell and Grahyson (1998) by helping people share and put information into action, organisational performance is improved.  I think blogs can be a valuable tool for making the tacit explicit. MacBride’s (2008) lists the potential for blogs to support learning. I agree and feel that blogs have a untapped potential and for the purposes of the USQ assignment and my desire to learn how to create a meaningful resource for siblings of those with cystic fibrosis, this provides some serious food for thought.

The notion of communities collaborating to challenge each other’s thinking and to build knowledge is very appealing. I think blogging for me has opened a new and exciting world, where the walls of the traditional lecture theatre have been draped over with Harry Potter’s cloak of invisibility and I have been exposed to the Forbidden Forest which is normally strictly forbidden to students.

 

thanks,  Paul

 

MacBride, R., & Lachman, A. L. (2008). Capitalizing on Emerging Technologies: A Case Study of Classroom Blogging. School Science & Mathematics, 108(5), 173-183.

O’Dell, C., & Grahyson, C. J. (1998). If only we knew what we know: Identification and transfer of internal knowledge and best practices. California Management Review, 40(3), 154-174.

Wenger, E. C., & Snyder, M. W. (2000). Communities of Practice: The Organizational Frontier. Harvard Business Review, January-February, 139-145.

 

 

 

About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in Me as a student and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As a student my brain is being Thermomixed

  1. Pingback: ‘As Teacher’ & ‘As Student’ – Modelling | iThink, iTeach, iTeens

  2. Pingback: The Dance of Technology and Pedagogy in Self-Paced Distance Education | iThink, iTeach, iTeens

Leave a Reply

