Reflection and direction setting – Week 5 (An education for a dollar fifty in late charges at the public library)

What has the last four weeks meant?  What have I learnt?  What do I need to learn? What do I need to do next?


The last four weeks has been a bit of a blur.  I think the hardest has been trying to get my head around how to tackle the course and locate the right information at the right time.  Like David I think the toolbelt concept is a good one (thanks Kat) and I believe that this is the future of learning.  What toolbelt will my kids need to navigate life?  I think shortcuts will be a necessity rather than a dirty word – perhaps we should running classes on ‘shortcuts’ – teaching kids how to get ahead in the life the smart way.

 

I guess what I have learnt so far is about to navigate the information.  How can I filter out the stuff that doesn’t matter at the same time as trying not to miss the gold?

Panning for Gold by davitydave, on Flickr
I think trying to get my head around some of the tools has been challenging but dare I say a bit of fun as well.
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License   by  davitydave 
 
I agree with Deb that the networked learning space has proved a big shift.  I’m pretty excited about the possibilities of knowledge sharing and the opportunities that will be provided for all of us.   In thinking about educational outcomes I’m keen to explore this further and hear other’s opinions.  From a professional point of view I’m currently working in the Enterprise Resourcing Planning space, so I’m basically preparing an organisation’s knowledge strategy and operational plan with the aim of ensuring all of their end users a properly skilled up to utilise the new software when it goes live.  So this networked learning is right up my alley.
 
 
I want to learn a lot of things but especially around tools for making the NGL a workable solution for knowledge management (KM).  I did a lot of reading on knowledge management in one of my other subjects and stumbled across Siemens and was quite impressed with their approach to KM.
 
 
We have a saying at Siemens: ‘If Siemens only knew what Siemens knows’. One of the best ways to share and grow knowledge is through collaboration. We employ the most talented people in the world so it’s important in my role to be an enabler of knowledge and cross-fertilisation of ideas. A great idea developed in the US could equally be applied as a great idea in China, Australia or Norway. We encourage this global collaboration through different programs such as internal awards or job rotations.
 
In one of the earlier readings on Connectivism and Connective Knowledge I think what stood out to me was the dropping of barriers of any kind to participation and it kind of reminds me of the great line in Good Will Hunting when Will (Matt Damon) is talking to Clark (Scott Winters) about his education;
 
 
See, the sad thing about a guy like you is, in 50 years you’re gonna start doin’ some thinkin’ on your own and you’re going to come up with the fact that there are two certainties in life: one, don’t do that, and two, you dropped 150 grand on a [deleted] education you could have got for a dollar fifty in late charges at the public library!
 
In thinking big picture – what could NGL mean for the future of education if there were no barriers?
 
 
 
 
 
 
About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in EDU8117, Networked Communities, NGL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

