Where have you come from? (week 3)

Week 3’s reading – Threshold concept: A lens for examining networked learning provided food for thought in how we analyse and share knowledge through connectivism and networked learning – quite interesting.  Yet I feel quite overwhelmed.  The endless sources of information…how does one deal with that?  I think the social context, collaborating and developing knowledge outside of formal education is critical for practitioners to understand and stay in-touch with. 

Network literacies is something I would like to dive into and understand where this heads.   Reading about the FULT program and the concepts of constructive alignment, reflective practice, learner-centred teaching and networked learning forces me to reflect upon my current professional approach – I do love the transformative learning experience and look forward to it in this course.

In reading about the ‘Threshold concept framework’ the visual of a ‘portal’ that leads to a new ontological destination where the way learning is understood is transformed is something that gets the juices flowing.   The concept of networked learning challenging how knowledge is generated resonates with me.  Where I work now, learning=classroom training and when I have challenged this I get a lot of blank faces.  I think that Siemens’ (2005) thoughts on knowledge generation through connectivism which places more importance upon the capacity to generate knowledge and maintain relationships in a network is quite confronting for many people. 

What also stands out is the learners need to find their own unique pathway to transformative understanding  of networked learning.  There is no right or wrong way to do this.  I agree that networked learning will change practices and even how people live their lives and I think the key lies in a long-term change management approach.  Let’s take small steps.

About Paul Size

Currently studying a Masters in Learning and Development at the University of Southern Queensland.
This entry was posted in EDU8117. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

